Feelin’ Scrappy Mitts

Grab your leftovers and whip up these scrappy mitts in no time.

On vacation in New Mexico this summer, I stumbled into a great yarn and weaving gallery – Weaving Southwest in Taos.   I bought a skein of hand dyed thick and thin wool (available online here).  I try not to buy yarn without a plan, but this was too pretty to pass up.  When it came time to start knitting, I turned to my old faithful: the 50 stitch cowl.  It never fails.  Throw 50 stitches of any super bulky yarn on a size 13 circular needle and knit to the perfect length (mine is 12″). 

Cowl finished and never one to let leftovers go to waste, I started working on these aptly named mitts.  I used the remaining thick and thin yarn from the cowl and the leftovers from the garter snake purse to whip up these super quick matching mitts.  Here’s how I made them:

Yarn:  leftover thick and thin wool and super bulky wool

Needles: Size 13 straight needles

Cast on 18 stitches of the thick and thin yarn and knit in stockinette stitch for 5 inches.

Switch to the solid bulky yarn and knit in a 1×1 rib for 3″.  Bind off in pattern. 

To finish, just seam them up leaving a 1″ hole for your thumb about 1 1/2″  from the top edge. 

Voila!  Who says leftovers can’t be exciting?  

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love that yarn! such a cute idea

    Reply

Leave a comment