A Cowl for all Seasons

I’ve been asked more than once “How many of those things do you own?” I usually answer “more than is normal, less than is crazy”.  In my opinion,  the cowl is the perfect knit accessory.  They’re warm, fashionable, easy to make and fun to wear. My new mantra:

The cowl is to the scarf what the muffin top is to the muffin.  -me.

Okay, my love for cowls may be verging on crazy.  I’ve recently started justifying shoe purchases by knitting cowls to match them.   

Example #1 – These little green ballet flats.  A fun color, but with a netural wardrobe, I wear them surprisingly often.  Well, I’ll be wearing them even more often this fall with this matching cowl. 

.

.

It’s the Ridged Lace Cowl by Elinor Brown.  I knit it in the luxurious Angora Bamboo yarn by Patons.  It’s lacy and soft without being bulky.  The perfect compliment for these dainty little flats.

Yeah, it’s hard to imagine how a pair of bright pink knit boots will fit into your wardrobe.  That is, unless you know how to whip up a matching pink cowl in two hours or less.  These boot/shoes are by one of my favorite shoe companies, Simple.  They use great ecological manufacturing processes like non-toxic glues, recycled tire soles, natural and organic materials.

Their perfect compliment? – another one of my 50 stitch cowls.  (Actually, this one’s 46 to be exact).  Lion Brand Thick and Quick yarn, size 13 circulars, knit til you’re out of yarn. And Voila! A simple, sporty knit cowl to match those Simple sporty knit boots. 

So go ahead, find that piece in your wardrobe that you love but never wear and see if a matching cowl doesn’t move it to the front hanger.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. What a great idea! I love it — definitely makes it easier to make outfits work and spice up otherwise neutral ensembles without just having one random colorful item.

    Please share where you found the green ballet flats. So cute!

    Reply
    • They’re from the Sundance catalog. I got them on sale, so I think they’re out of the green ones, but they have a lot of other really cute ballet flats.

      Reply
  2. Meagan

     /  October 19, 2010

    Where did you get the boots?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

