One of those knitters…

This cute little painting by Robin’s Egg Studio made me smile. Yes, I’ll admit it – I’m one of those knitters and I’d suspect you are too  If you’re like me, you’re downright proud of it.  If you don’t want to become one of those knitters: here are the warning signs.

1. Your friends ask “did you make that?” when you wear anything knitted.

It’s flattering that they think that much of your knitting prowess, but at some point it’s just embarrassing to have to admit “no…I bought it at the GAP”.

2. You hit the yarn store in the face of emergency.

Most people would consider groceries, firewood or batteries the essentials in the face of an oncoming weather disaster.  All you can think about is all the free time you’ll have to catch up on your knitting.

3. You improvise knitting tools when you’re without.

You know that feeling, you’re just getting rolling on an exciting new project and realize you don’t have a stitch marker.  A wedding band is shaped just like a stitch marker…. your spouse will never notice right?

4. All your friends ask for knitting lessons.

Yep, it’s like Jr. High all over again except that now you’re one of the cool kids.  Plus, knitting is a much better life skill than spit-wads.

5. You carry a camera to the mall.

Because you’ll never know when inspiration will hit you.  Don’t tell me you’ve never seen a cute little cowl or wrap on a mannequin and thought…”I could totally make that”.

6. You stop strangers to talk knitting.

We all expect to find kindred spirits in the yarn aisle, but there’s nothing better than connecting with a total stranger who shares your passion.  Whenever I spot someone wearing what looks like a hand-knit, I always pay them a compliment.  It never fails to spark a fruitful conversation.

7.  You spend more time on Ravelry than Facebook.

And who could blame you?  There’s no Farmville, no annoying personality quiz requests, and no ex-boyfriends!

8. You get your book club books on CD.

There are only so many hours in a week for knitting, right?  Why waste two hands holding a book when you can listen and knit at the same time!

9. You knit in  your sleep.

Well, dreams that is, all my best designs happen in my sleep.  But how much more knitting would I get done if I could figure out how to do it in my sleep!

10.  You read knitting blogs!.

And I love you for it. Seriously, Thank You so much for dorking out with me over how cool we all know knitting is.

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Trish Casey

     /  March 17, 2012

    I’ve only just found (or happened upon) your blog. I am from a seaside town in the UK and wouldn’t say I am addicted but could quite happily bring a project into Betty Fords with me. For years I didn’t admit to being secret knitter because it wasn’t cool when you were jamming to U2, going to a rave or checking out the next Morrissey gig. Now, though, what a shift. Friends teenage daughters ask me to make cuffs for them, my elderly prima gravida pregnant mates want items for their new babes to look trendy in. So – here I am, noticing that I could be what you describe as a nerdy knitter. I do the “speaking to strangers at the wool shop” gig and my husband knows that our holiday packing has to include space for whatever is in my project bag. My mum I’d eighty and hasn’t succumbed to the old fashioned stuff that no self respecting mum will put on a child either. I owe my skills to her!

    Reply
  2. Hilary, you are so right!!
    I say, No, I didn’t knit this one, but I plan to replace it with one I knit!

    Reply
  3. When someone asks, “Did you make that?”, I reply, “No, but I could have.” Of course, I feel a bit guilty that I didn’t!!
    🙂

    Reply
  4. Hello

    Another new reader here – I just had to laugh reading this. Yes to all the above – especially the talking to strangers. I cannot walk past someone knitting without talking to them about their project! x

    Reply
  5. I’m all but #5 and #7. I don’t go to the mall. Shocker, I know. And I never got into Ravelry that much. Lion Brand’s patterns are my go-to.
    I recently bought a knit dress with ruffles and pleats and buttons and cute!! And the shop girl who knew I was a knitter said “can’t you just knit that?” WAAHT?! It would only take me 4 years. I would never finish a project of that size for myself, lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

