Fall Forecast

Like everyone else in the Midwest, I am sick and tired of our oppressive ‘heat bubble’.  Last month was the hottest ever on record.  I’m longing for cowl weather and hot tea, so to cheer myself up – I’m scouting fall knitting trends to start working on when the weather cools off.   One of the best things about being a knitter is getting to drool over spendy sweaters then scheme how to knit them up for yourself. Here’s are some of my inspirations for fall and how I plan to make them.

I’ve been eying mohair pullovers for a few seasons now and I think I may just be crazy enough to knit one myself.  I’m certainly not crazy enough to pay $168 for this one from Anthropologie.  I know – an oversized sweater in mohair would take forever to knit, but I really do think it could be a wardrobe staple that could be worn a variety of ways. Now the hard part, finding the right pattern.  You’d think there would be a million mohair crewneck sweater patterns out there – but you’d be wrong.  There are plenty of lacy or complicated versions out there, but what I like about this one is the simple silhouette. After much searching I found this pattern by Drops Design. This Drops Pullover is designed for a mohair/wool blend but I’d opt for a kidsilk mohair because I think it looks a little more polished.  I’d also go for a lighter color to show off the sheer quality of the yarn.  It looks like this is a pretty slim fitting pattern so I’d knit the next size up and lengthen it a few inches and add some width at the bottom to achieve the tunic look of the Anthropologie version.

.

 

 

As the proud owner and operator of an italian style scooter, I can truly appreciate the irony of a sweater with all the edge of a leather biker jacket and the softness of a favorite afghan.  I’m crazy about the asymmetrical silhouette and the buttoned cowl neckline.  This sweater makes me want to hop on my ride and feel the wind, or at least the breeze, in my hair.

This pattern’s a bit of a splurge at $7, but hey – it’s better than paying $168 for it at Garnet Hill. For this copy-cat I think the Twenty Ten Cardigan by Rain Knitwear Designs on Ravelry is just perfect.  I like the texture even better that the original. Get on Ravelry and check her out – I love so many of her designs it’s almost hard to choose.  I’d knit this one in gray and simply make the sleeves full length and add a longer rib at the bottom of the body and sleeves. I like the look of the big full cowl neck folded over so I’d probably double the length of the collar while I was at it.

 

 

There’s something very flattering about the shape of this cardigan.  It’s basically a structured shrug with full length sleeves but with a very clever twist.  If you look closely you’ll see that each side of the sweater is knit with a different pattern.  A pretty lace pattern on the left (her right) and a basic  moss stitch on the right.  I’m kind of intrigued by the design and I’m already thinking of other ways to use it.

 

 

In trying to mimic this look,  I had to find a pattern that’s knit with two separate pieces for the front and back to incorporate the different stitch patterns.  Luckily, I found yet another great free pattern from Drops. This Drops Bolero is a perfect fit for this split personality sweater.  I’d knit the moss stitch side first to get the hang of the gauge and the decreases then calculate how to incorporate a diamond lace pattern into the other side.  That may be easier said than done, but I’m always up for a challenge.  Now all I’ve got to do is track down one of those awesome wood buttons!

So here’s hoping that Fall and inspiration find you soon.  Stay cool everyone.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. jaderenee

     /  March 19, 2013

    I love Drops patterns. Their yarn is nice, too. Starting on a Shoulder Bag crocheted in round motifs. Think I have enough stash yarn to make iit in cool summer colors. Yay!

    Reply
  2. jaderenee

     /  March 19, 2013

    Is there a pattern for this little knitted leaf?

    Reply
  3. Where is the second to last cardi from??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

