Cleaning up Queue

In honor of Labor Day I’m celebrating all the things I’ve crossed off my queue this summer.  My favorite website Ravelry lets you keep a to-do list of all the projects you want to make.  I have a bad habit of adding anything that sounds interesting and at the beginning of the summer I had well over 80 projects lined up.  Thanks to some editing and a little summer knitting, I’m proud to announce I’m now down to 71. Hey, progress is progress right? Here’s how I got there.

The Spring Beret by Natalie Lawson.  Yarn: Paton’s Angora Bamboo

There’s a reason this is the most popular beret on Ravelry.  It knits up quickly and looks great.  I think the angora  yarn was the key to this beret’s success. It’s a bit finer than most worsted yarns and the slight sheen gives it a polished look.

Make it again?  Definitely.  Several friend have already asked about it; I’m thinking this would make a great Christmas gift.

Toast by Leslie Friend. Yarn: Debbie Bliss’s Donegal Tweed. 

This yarn and pattern was the perfect excuse to buy my first pair of double pointed needles and try some fingerless gloves.  The verdict?  Love the gloves, hated the DPNs.  I’ve used them on dozens of projects now and I still can’t get them quite figured out.  I keep getting the dreaded ‘ladder effect’.

Make em again?  Probably so, I’m not about to let those double pointed needles get the best of me.

The Montana Scarf by Craig Rosenfeld. Yarn: Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool

Made for my surprisingly picky husband.  This variation on a 3×3 rib is the perfect scarf for the ruggedly handsome man in your life.  I think the brown tweed yarn looks great with this basic stitch pattern. 

Make it again?  Already did.  I really like this pattern and a good men’s scarf pattern is hard to come by.  This will be my go-to for years to come.

The Bring it On Blanket by Pickles.  Yarn: Debbie Bliss Eco Cotton.

A great lacy pattern that’s easy to pick up and set down.  The real art to it is picking your colors and choosing the thickness of the stripes. 

Make it again?  Soon.  I already have plans to start a little boy version in oranges and blues for a friend’s upcoming baby.  I’m sure that won’t be the last time I make this lacy little blanket.

Triangel by Caroline Lang. Yarn:  Berocco Ultra Fine Alpaca yarn. 

A nice ‘architectural’ knit. This geometric lace pattern that takes a bit of work to memorize,  but is well worth it in the end.  It took a full week of vacation, knitting all day to finish it, but I think the versatile shape and color  will mean I get a lot of wear out of it this fall. 

Make it again?  Probably not. It’s a lovely knit but it was probably a bit too time consuming to make as a gift.  But, if I ever did – I’d use this yarn again in a heart beat.

So long summer and welcome back fall.  Bring on the cool weather, I’m starting to look silly wearing knits when it’s 95 degrees out there.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

