A vacation, from good taste?

While visiting my sister and knitting coach in South Dakota last week I started leafing through her library of knitting books and stumbled upon Boutique Knits.  I’d packed some Cascade Yarns baby alpaca that I’d gotten on sale and found a pattern that I thought would suit it perfectly.  I may have thought wrong.  

The sideways grand cloche looked perfectly elegant knit in grey. It’s a very unique pattern with a ribbed body, flat top and faux side cable.  In my ambition to finish a vacation knit, I cast on with reckless abandon.  It wasn’t until the next day that I finished up, tried it on, and realized…the look was less boutique and more, beehive.  Maybe it’s the pattern, and maybe it’s the color, but I have to admit I’m having a touch of knitter’s remorse.

So the real question is, to frog or not to frog? 

Frog (verb):  to rip out a knitted project. 

Sure, this sunny yellow yarn was a bargain, but does it really want to stay a hat, or be frogged into something new.  I’m on the fence, so I’m asking for your help. 

Thumbs up or thumbs down?  Be honest, be brutal.  I can take it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Kate

     /  July 27, 2010

    It looks very cute on you. I say thumbs up.

    Reply
  2. Jordan

     /  July 27, 2010

    It’s not the worst hat i’ve ever seen…I say reuse it and make something new!

    Reply
  3. Tina

     /  July 27, 2010

    I love all of your knits! But I have to admit that “yellow thang” definately would look better in grey! So I vote to frog it into something new and wonderful! We all know you can do it! Frog it!!!

    Reply
  4. Kendra

     /  July 29, 2010

    I actually really like it in the first two pictured from the front and back. I agree it may be a little beehive from the front but I like it. I say keep it, but I admit it may be because I’m way to lazy to frog anything – once it’s knit it’s done in my case – terrible or not

    Reply
  5. Meagan

     /  August 1, 2010

    That pattern does look really nice in grey. I would say keep the hat until you maybe find something else for the yarn, then frog

    Reply
  6. I would SO wear that hat. Especially if it was orange, perfect for cold game days in Stillwater 🙂

    Reply
  7. Hey, I have knit that same hat. My gauge was waay off, so there is no room to do the crown. I haven’t finished weaving in the ends, but I have some pictures. It is in a dark brown alpaca, and I think it is a beautiful hat. I believe your color choice is the culprit in this endeavor!! You can check out the pictures on my blog, http://www.kloseknitclaremore.blogspot.com
    Eileen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

