Welcome Baby Stella!

This beautiful girl was born to one of my dearest friends just a few weeks ago.  Stella’s arrival is a very big deal, so I picked a special yarn and set to work making her a baby blanket. 

This is another great pattern from pickles, called the Bring it On Baby Blanket.  A very simple wavy lace pattern is perfectly suited to beginners. It’s an easy repetitive knit you can pick up and set down easily. This project lived on my coffee table so I could work on it any time I had a few minutes free. 

Stella’s blanket was made with my new favorite yarn – Debbie Bliss Eco Aran.  It’s 100% organic cotton and it’s fair trade, meaning no eco-guilt (though I’m probably the only one who experiences that). 

This yarn is soft and squishy and feels great to knit with.  Plus, it comes in a huge variety of colors.  Call it sympathy cravings, but the soft pastel colors in this baby blanket made me crave ice cream the whole time I was knitting it.

I should have just enough of the green and white left to make a striped baby hat, but plan to use this yarn for more baby projects in the future.  This is not a paid endorsement, but if Debbie wants to send me some complimentary skeins, she should feel free to do so. 

Welcome to the world baby Stella, and remember: you’re never to old to enjoy a good blankie.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Becca

     /  August 26, 2010

    Stella LOVES her blanket! The yarn is just incredible- warm, light and so very soft. And as usual, your taste is exquisite, and the colors are fantastic. We are taking Stella for a trip to the mountains in Washington and will be taking the hat and booties for warmth! Can’t wait!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

