Showcase Showdown

Well, the show is less than a week away.  So, here’s a sneak peek of what I’ve been up to for the last month.  A lot of these are new patterns and I need to get them written out so I can share them, but as you can imagine, I’ve been a little preoccupied lately.

Who’s got the button?  A new felted purse design with more reclaimed thrift store handles.  Just big enough for the necessities, it will keep you from developing what I call the ‘grandma purse’ syndrome.

The mustard seed.  A simple seed stitch cowl with a match ribbon cinch.  So easy and so elegant.  My friends will probably all get one for Christmas.

The micro scarf 2.0.  I wear mine all the time so I made a few with stripes out of wool.  A must have for your next Dr. Seuss book club meeting.

Silk Bandana Scarves.  I knit the second one with size 13 needles for a tighter gauge and smaller size.  I love how the variety of the recycled silk makes each one look different.

The garter snake purse.  Another new design for me.  It’s super simple garter stitch construction and easy to line.  Just add bamboo handles and it’s ready to hit the town.

The beach bum bag.  This is sort of a variation of the weekender in recycled cotton with bamboo handles.  Very eco chic.

Green for your green.  Another adaptation of an earlier pattern.  This is the racing stripe wallet all dressed up with a wood button and metal snaps.

The fall shrug.  It’s got to be my roots at Oklahoma State, but I can’t resist a good orange every once in a while.  And, I think everyone looks good in a shrug.

And finally, one of my favorite designs. A bit painstaking to make, but I’m pretty proud of them.  The cowboy boot-ies.  A pattern inspired by the fact that everyone I know is having a baby.  And, every baby needs something great to wear with a jean skirt.  It’s easy to get carried away making these.  I’ll have about 10 pairs done by the show including a red pair and white ones with fringe.

More pictures to come soon.  5 days and counting!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Kendra

     /  June 21, 2010

    LOVE all the bags – although you know I already have grandma purse syndrome

    Reply
  2. Meagan

     /  July 17, 2010

    When will the patterns from the show be posted? I love the designs and really wanna see patterns. I esp. love the bags and the booties.

    Reply
  3. Mom

     /  July 30, 2010

    I think I need to buy the green bag with the big button to give to Shirleen for her Birthday in December! It is sooooo her. 🙂

    Dad will be down in August… we can save postage and have you send it with him?????

    Reply
  4. Hannah

     /  July 13, 2011

    Love your orange OSU fall shrug! Good to know i’m not the only OSU alum knitter!!! Where can i find this pattern?!

    Reply
    • Thanks! This is the perfect accessory for cheering on the Pokes. If I remember correctly, I think I kind of made up that pattern. I’ll see if I can find my notes and get it published here on the blog before football season.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

